Introduction to Allaah SWT (part 2)

image

Al Tawaab

This name of Allah SWT gives you hope

What is the meaning of Tawaab:

It derives from the verb Taab which means came back….regretted and came back…repented and Allah SWT is Al Tawaab….the one who always accepts you back and never sends you away or let you down when you go back to him. Allah SWT says in surat Al Shura ayah 25 (And it is He who accepts repentance from his servants and pardons misdeeds..)

This is a very beautiful ayah…..it is possible that you apologize to someone your wronged and they refuse your apology because of the size of your mistake but with Allah SWT….whenever you go back he accepts you. Sometimes you feel ashamed to apologize to someone for a mistake you committed because you feel they might embarrass you and refuse your apology but Allah SWT tells you in this ayah don’t feel ashamed or embarrassed come back and you will always be accepted….what more than this do you want….. Are you ready to go back and repent from your sins!!?

We always find the word accept with the word repent in the Quran as in this beautiful ayah in surat Ghafir ayah 3: (The forgiver of sin, acceptor of repentance) and in surat Al Tawabah ayah 104: (Do they not know that it is Allah who accepts repentance from His servants)….. so Allah will never let you down.

To whom is the Tawba?

To everyone…..not just to those who committed major sins like adultery but to everyone including the believers….Allah SWT says in surat Al Noor ayah 31: (…And turn to Allah in repentance, all of you, O believers, that you might succeed.).

Repentance is for those who wronged their parents, those who deal with bribery (whether taking or giving…they are both in hell), for those who drink or sell drinks, for those who don’t pray or miss some prayers like the prayer of fajr which is a part of the five daily prayers, for the rich who don’t give charity and help others, for the policeman who uses his power to mistreat people, for those who do injustice to their house maids and drivers, did they forget that one Thulm (injustice) is considered thulumat (many) on the day of judgment, for the women who don’t wear proper hijab and cause fitnah to the men, for the men who don’t lower their gaze and keep looking at the maharim of their brothers….for those who eat the money of the orphans….. Don’t all these need repentance!!?

And if we leave the big sins, don’t the smaller sins which we commit every day also need repentance!!?

There are some of us who is Ghafil (oblivious) from Allah SWT….sometimes it is harder for the oblivious to repent than the sinner!! Because the sinner feels sick of his sin after sometimes and they start to hate it and regret it so it is easier for them to repent than it is on the oblivious who think they are fine and the Shaytaan keeps telling them you are a good person and you are fine….so when will the oblivious wake up?

Allah SWT says:(So will they not repent to Allah and seek His forgiveness?…) surat Al Ma’aidah ayah 74

Don’t you feel the kindness of Allah from this ayah?

Even the good pious youth who is filled with energy but are not doing anything for this deen need to repent…. Even the life time that passed while you are away from Allah SWT needs repentance and the blessings of Allah SWT which you did not thank him for needs repentance and gratitude.

Sufyan Al Thawri (one of the famous Muslim imams) said: I sat down one day and started counting my sins and they reached 21,000 sins and I said to myself: Will you meet your lord with 21,000 sins and he will ask you about each and every sin….you stand before him with no interpreter between you and he asks you for a sin after a sin!!! He said: So I sat down and started to count and repent, count and repent until I finished.

Dr. Amr Khaled said he told a friend of his this story and the friend implemented the same and came back to Dr. Amr Khaled saying he felt so good, so relaxed and filled with energy and happiness after he was done.

Tawbah in the Quran and Sunnah

I will mention few ayat and ahadeeth about tawbah, may be they will help to move the hearts and softens them to a new beginning in shaa Allah.

Allah says in Surat Al Zumur ayah 53: (Say, “O My servants who have transgressed against themselves [by sinning], do not despair of the mercy of Allah . Indeed, Allah forgives all sins. Indeed, it is He who is the Forgiving, the Merciful.”)

This ayah brings comfort and soothing to the heart…. It’s like Allah SWT is telling us no matter how big are your sins…never lose hope in Allah SWT.

And look at the way he addresses us….he calls us O My servants….he did not call us O sinners or O criminals and he said: who have transgressed against themselves…he did not say sinned so he does not expose us Subhanahu wa ta’lah that is how he wants us to go back and repent.

Allah SWT tells you and shows you that he will forgive you and that he loves you in surat Al Baqara ayah 222: (Allah loves those who are constantly repentant and loves those who purify themselves.”)

And he said in surat Al Nissa’a ayah 27 and 28: (Allah wants to accept your repentance, but those who follow [their] passions want you to digress [into] a great deviation, And Allah wants to lighten for you [your difficulties]; and mankind was created weak)

The Prophet PBUH used to seek forgiveness from Allah 100 times a day and he was the Prophet PBUH who all his deeds were good.

Have you ever said O Allah I seek forgiveness and I repent a complete and inclusive repentance from all the previous sins I committed!!?
Do it every night.
You also have Ramadan as a new page so make sure you utilize it.

The Prophet PBUH said: Allah SWT created a door when he created heavens and earths and he left it open, the door is from the East, the width of the door is a distance of someone riding for 70 years and he still could not reach it, then the Prophet PBUH said: do you know what is this door?, they said: No O Prophet of Allah, he said: The door of Tawbah ( Repentance)…. The door is so wide and open more than your sins….”if the sun rises from the west the door will be closed”….so why don’t you repent?

the Prophet, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, “Allah Almighty will stretch out His hand during the night, turning towards the one who did wrong during the day, and stretch out His hand during the day, turning towards the one who did wrong during the night, until the day the sun rises from the place it set.” [Muslim]

Tawbah (Repentance) takes you to the highest levels of closeness to Allah SWT…the moment you repent you become habib Al Rahman…..There is another matter that will encourage you to repent and that is: When Iblis refused to do the sujood when he was asked by Allah and he was kicked out of heaven he said:
I swear by Your might! “I will be tempting them till their souls remain within their bodies”. Allah then said: By My majesty and My might I shall then be forgiving them whenever they seek forgiveness from Me’.

Sometimes the Shaytaan comes to you and makes you feel guilty…he tells you…you have sinned…how can you pray and make dua…. Don’t you feel ashamed?… you have no face to ask Allah for anything because you did bad. Please don’t listen to him, this is his trick to keep you away because he knows if you go back Allah will always accept you so he doesn’t want you to go back and he plays the game of guilt with you.

And finally listen to Allah SWT talking to you in this Hadith Qudsi and feel his love for us.

The Prophet (PBUH) mentioned that Allah (SWT) said,“Myself, Mankind and Jinn are in a great serious state. I create them, then they worship other gods that they make for themselves; I bless them with my bounties, then they thank someone else for what I sent them; My Mercy descends to them while their evil deeds ascend to Me; I endear them with my gifts even though I have no need to any of them while they alienate themselves from Me with their sins even though they are desperate for my help. Whoever returns to Me, I accept him no matter how far he is; and whoever turns away from Me, I approach him and call on him. Whoever leaves a sin for my sake, I reward him with many gifts and whoever seeks to please Me, I seek to please him. Whoever acknowledges My Will and Power in whatever he does, I make the iron bend for his sake. My dear people are those who are with Me (i.e. whoever would like to be with Me, let him supplicate to Me and remember Me).

Whoever thanks Me, I grant him more blessings; whoever obeys Me, I raise him and endear him more. Whoever disobeys Me, I keep the doors of My Mercy open for him; if he returns to Me, I bestow him with My Love since I love those who repent and purify themselves for My Sake. If he does not repent, I still treat him by putting them in hardship to purify him. Whoever favors Me over others, I favor them over others. I reward every single good deed ten times over or seven hundred times over to countless times over. I count every single bad deed as one unless the person repents and ask for My Forgiveness in which case I forgive even that one. I take into account any little good deed and I forgive even major sins. My Mercy supersedes My Anger; My Tolerance supersedes My Blame; My Forgiveness supersedes My Punishment as I am more merciful with My slaves than a mother with her child.”

3 thoughts on “Introduction to Allaah SWT (part 2)

Leave a Reply

